I have been neglectful

It dawned on me today that I have not been writing on here like I should be.  Part of that is probably due to the changes at home since the wifey got a new job complete with varying hours and I have been a bit sidetracked from my running and blog writing (or maybe the high alcohol content beer I have been trying lately).  I still plan on doing the full marathon in Denver, but I will need to go into full-on ass busting mode to get it done.   That means cutting out most beer and getting all of my runs in no matter what.  If I am 1 hour late to work, oh well.  Priorities! At least they finally said what the route course will be, I am thrilled with the start and finish being so close, more races need to do this. I do wish that it was closer to Invesco or Coors field, but it will be a great scenic race, one where I will post pictures live from the race with my Moto Droid.  Or the Wife’s Droid X if she gives it to me.

Click here for a bigger picture…

One of my goals for this year was to get the tattoo on my leg which I finally did.  I went to Club Tattoo and 3.5 hours later walked out with my ink.  I really like it, but I don’t like the intense swelling and pain in my leg.  I was getting some slow developing SI joint pain which was causing me to slow up some, and this really pushed me to slow down.  I hope to return to regularly scheduled running later this week.  Here is a picture of the work.

I wanted it to go a little lower to the sock line, but it was PAINFUL down there.

Do you know who Fran Drozdz is?  Neither did I until the other day.  She is a local lady who has run 50 marathons in all 50 states and is thinking about lapping back again.  Maybe someday I will be able to get out enough to do the 50/50.  Plus her running has encouraged her husband to start running half-marathons, which is great for anyone to start doing.  And by the way she is 66 years old and has done 72 marathons.  Awesome!  Plus when running gets into the news even in a small publication like this one, it is great for the sport.   For the entire article click…..uum….HERE!

I recently got a new toy-a 27 inch iMac.  This computer is the most bad ass computing device I have ever laid fingers on.  And I still don’t know how to do half of what it offers.  Wait until I become proficient with iPhoto and iMovie.  Heck, You Tube better get prepared.

Ahh, what else?

Oh yeah, that great interview with Peter Snell. I stumbles across an article in which Peter Snell was interviewed regarding Lydiard and other training questions, it is full of training info that any runner can benefit from no matter what training program you use.  Who is Peter Snell?  Well, he is a 3 time Olympic Gold medalist in the 800 and 1600.  To learn a thing or two click…oh man…HERE! Honestly this is a great interview and is full of fantastic training information for runners who go from the mile to marathon.  I was very fortunate to come across this interview.

In Arizona news, world renown running coach Dr. Jack Daniels has left Flagstaff to coach XC and track at Brevard College.  He has always done awesome work with runners at the lower tier colleges and I wish him the best of luck.  I have met him a time or two in Flag and he is a great guy.  Glad to hear that his plans are to return to Flagstaff in the off season and when he retires from coaching. Here is an article about his leaving.

What else is missing?  A fabulous You Tube video perhaps.  Well here ya go, enjoy-its kind of running related.

Anyway, I hope to get up to Northern Arizona for some altitude running in the next few months and perhaps bring you some pictures and video of the Sedona/Flagstaff area so you get a feel for the area I love so much.  Here is a preview from when I was there last winter.  Yeah, aliens selling crystals imported from China marketed as local rule.

How to follow that up?  Peace out!

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

