The “secret”

I am taking this from the Gym Jones twitter feed, because I think that it si so true for younger athletes.  It seems to me that so many people in sport today are looking for the quick fix and magic bullet that will put them on the podium.  In reality, no such elixirs exist.  Mark Spitz is an example of someone whose parents and himself got it right.  In the words of Mark Twight; “Start young, find good coaches, train with & race against the best, work hard. It seems there is no secret and never was.”

 

Here is the short story of Spitz that he was referring to (although I mostly detest ESPN).  Starting young?  That age is up to you.

BTW, here is the Gym Jones website if you are interested.  They created the nationwide phenomena that is being labeled Cross-Fit.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

