Happy 4th!

Happy 4th of July America!  As it ends up I didn’t go to the Arizona Road Racers 4 on the 4th race today.  I slept in about 45 minutes later than I have been in recent days, which did surprise me as I have been waking up without fail at 4:30 for the past few months.  Unless I get a bout of insomnia which when it hits me happens between 1:30-2:30 AM.  When that happens I will use my alarm clock to get me up bright and early.  Instead I went for a 75 minute run that left me pretty wiped, but I have since bounced back fairly quickly.  Being a desert lizard I live in a dry heat, right?  So when I left today and Weather Underground said it was 90 degrees with 61% humidity, I knew it wasn’t going to be a norma run.  I took it slow for the most part and even used some of the more challenging hills.  Pretty pleased with the effort and results.

As for why I think I recovered well, I will give that to melons.  Yep, melons.  If you have ever read Chris Lear’s book  Running with the Buffaloes (which i recommend any runner read) you will see several notices to how you need to eat melon in order to be a good runner.  I take that a step further and say that if you want to be a good hot weather runner you need to eat melons.  Full of water, fiber, and yes the V word…vitamins, it is the perfect food/snack for runners or endurance athletes.

Speaking of snacks, want to know my new secret snack?  Vanilla yogurt (Greek works well) and a can of sugar free Red Bull mixed together.  Kinds like a smoothie, but not really.  Slowly mix about 1/4 to a 1/2 of the can in while you stir and eat the morning eye opener. That just gave me an idea.  I will add a can of the Red Bull to the next smoothie I make.  I need to hit the store to get some more of the add in’s I place in my smoothies, flax seed, flax oil, Spirulina, chard, and maca. Ya all are drooling now, aren’t you?

In 5 days I will be back in California for a 7 days or R&R, and California beers. I may even sit on the patio and drink bottle of Caduceus Cellars red wine. 

Chiling over the Pacific Ocean, at a secret location. But here are some pictures from the trip last year. Or I could use pictures from the trip in 2009, 2007, 2005, 2003.

Before I go I would like to recommend a few places that I have been visiting on the interwebs lately in order to get some new and fresh ideas.  First is Ben Greenfield fitness.  Lots of good info there for endurance athletes in any sport.

Next is Dane Findley’s blog, which covers everything for life longevity to organization at work and home, to overall top functioning.  Check his site out here. 

That’s all I have for now, hope everyone is doing well and living the life you want.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

