Returning to your roots

I think that we all need to take an occasional trip back to where our desires, dreams, plans and goals stem from and for most of  us that place is our roots.  Wherever your current situation has you, this grand and beautiful, sometimes dirty and confusing trip all started somewhere.  And to be able to go back and return to those roots and see where and why you decided to be where you are at now can be a refresher and refocus mechanism to get you back up running (a partial metaphor) at or near full speed again.

My roots can found as simply as heading out the door for a run under the early morning stars, spending some quiet time with my kids and wife, or have me travel to the red rocks of Sedona or  somewhere with a forest. I can even find my roots when I return to a school or university I attended, a library where I gained knowledge and information, or trail I hiked with my grandfather.  All of those places have my roots dug in to some degree.

We all need to know where our roots are and how to get that focus and desire going full speed ahead again.

With that being said, here is a video from the worlds best mountain runner, Kilian Jornet , on why he recently called off a trip that had been planned and hyped up for some time.  At the top of his game he needed to go and find his roots and take stock and inventory.  As he said, the strongest muscle in the body is the mind.

Where are your roots?


About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

