What to drink during a marathon

I know that many people put in countless hours and burn a lot of brain energy trying to figure out the perfect fueling combination during a marathon. Which products to use are also a big sticking point, so I was happy to see someone as well known and respected as Alicia Shay write a piece for the Run Smart Project telling people to avoid gatorade.  I have been telling people for years not to drink gatorade for the same reasons she lays out in her writings.  And many races are using the Gatorade Endurance formula which has even more fructose in it. Also-dont forget to look at the gels you are using.

 

My new personal favorite?  Gleukos. Amazon has a great deal on Gleukos now where it is autoshipped at an interval you choose, you get free shipping, and the price decreases for using auto ship.  If you have ever thought about trying it, I say don’t hesitate.

Oh, the original article?  It can be found HERE>>>>>>

 

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

