Next up…

I had a good weekend last week.  My wife ran the Womens Half Marathon and did very well, almost hitting her goal time on the nose. It was the first time I had been her race crew as either we have run the same races or I ran while she was the driver/babysitter.  I enjoyed being on the other side of the fence for her and was pretty impressed with the race.  It seemed well organized (except for the bus of people that rolled up literally as they were counting down from 30 seconds until start) and most everyone seemed to enjoy the relatively flat, fast course. I guess everyone has a reason to run whatever race they want, but I was surprised at home many males were running in the female specific event.

Check out the size of the medal.  Its bigger than a CD. (I have this picture set to display properly but it keeps going sideways).

Now I am working towards a few 50K’s in early 2012, but my wife asked me to run in the Fiesta Bowl half next month, so as a good husband I agreed.  I honestly think she is feeling pretty spry now and has an idea that she may be able to creep up on me in the race, so I will be prepared to retain the title as fastest in the household. She did beat me once-my very first marathon after I went from a 290 pound weightlifting type who hated running to someone who was giving it a shot.  But not since.

What else happened this weekend??? Oh yes, the Broncos bitch-slapped (sorry ladies) the Chokeland Raiders.  I dont know if Timmy T has what it takes to make this team a perrenial playoff team, but he can be fun to watch.

The weather here is FINALLY getting cooler and even cold so I need to get the cold weather gear out, which is fine by me.  Although in a few months I will be longing for days running with a t-shirt and shorts, but that can wait.

I am looking forward to Thanksgiving as there are some good beers out there I am still waiting to try, but I am on hiatus until then.  Need to keep the pounds off and training tight.  I picked up a few new products and am looking forward to trying them, I will let everyone know how they work (MRM).

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

