Back online

My internet connection had been very spotty for the past 2 days and when I got up this morning and it was still cutting in and out, I was very unhappy to say the least.  I did everything that I knew had worked in the past (unplug modem and/or router, clear history and cache, etc) with no success.

I called Cox automated system which told me that everything was working just fine, so I asked to talk to a tech.  After spending 20 minutes on the phone with me the nice, but script stricken tech told me that I either had a virus (I have all MAcs which I know can get a virus but it is very doubtful) or my modem needed to be replaced.  Earlier in the call she told me several times that my modem was working well with no packet loss, skips, or time outs.

I ended the call and became more and more frustrated, when I then noticed that my router was no longer showing as “available”. I went in and cleared everything out of my router with a hard reset, and set it back up.  Same for my modem.  Now not only am I back online, my signal is stronger than before and data seems to be quicker.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that it holds up even though I was looking at getting a new Apple Airport Extreme.

 

On the running front I got in 10 miles with my dog yesterday.  I was spent when we were done and it was much slower than I planned on.  I guess that I forgot how hard the desert trails can be with dry washes and river beds, gradual climbs, and sand and dirt that you sinks good 2-3 inches into.  I am still planning on doing a trail 30K and trail 1/2 marathon in March with the Whiskey Row full trail marathon in May.

Here is a little Frank to get your Presidents day off to a good start.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

