Run to Squaw Peak’s North face, UFO crash site, and more!

Today I was lucky enough to be able to pop out of work early and head up the 51 freeway to run at Dreamy Draw.  Today I wanted to try something new so I set my sights on going up the North face of Squaw Peak (Piestewa Peak).  I saw from the trail map that it was rated difficult to hard so I figured that I was in for a nice challenge.  As I was on the trail and keeping my eyes open for the trail markers as not to get lost it became pretty clear to me why trail 1A used markers with a horseshoe on them while the rest were the regular City of Phoenix logo.  It was tough going at times, parts were totally not runable due to being so steep uphill, and mildly dangerous coming down the other side.  According to Strava the average grade was 12.5%.

Back to those trail markers.  Somehow on the way down I missed a turn or something as I ended up on trail 200 or 230 and entered the parking lot from the East instead of the West.  At least I made it there.  I will look at the GPS map and see where I missed the trail.  So…here are some photos I snapped along the way.    I am not sure why they are being shown so small, click a picture for larger images.

 

And here is some video from just below the high point of the North Face.

 

I almost forgot, here is where the UFO crashed and is buried!

Well, if you believe the story it crashed there and the dam was constructed to cover up the wreck.  Click here to see more about it.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

One response to “Run to Squaw Peak’s North face, UFO crash site, and more!

  • Bailey

    Greetings I am so excited I found your webpage,
    I really found you by error, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to
    say kudos for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but
    I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

Leave a Reply

