The day after

My worst run in a long time, and I am still not feeling that great.  It probably has something to do with my terrible nights sleep last night.  I hope that all of the “terrible” and “worst” events I am having are done before I head out to California.  I am still debating what made the long run so bad and still don’t have any definitive answers, so I will just keep doing what I have always done and try to pick it up starting tomorrow.  I had thoughts of doing a few miles before eating dinner, but nixed the idea even after listening to Endurance Planet’s latest installment of ATU, where running or training when not feeling up to par was discussed.

I forgot to mention that I got a new pair of shoes for father’s day.  My wife and kids got me the Asics Lyte 33’s.  I even got this color.

I have seen these shoes advertised as a competitor to the Nike Free. but my initial impression is that it is an entirely different shoe altogether.  “Its an entirely different shoe.”  If you didn’t get that it was a reference to the movie Airplane!.  

Sorry if you didn’t get it.

Back to the shoe. In comparing it to the Free, I don’t see many similarities as it is not as flexible, not as cushioned, and I don’t think I would wear these without socks as the material for the upper is pretty rough on the inside of the shoe.  They are very light, and in experience a lot of Asics shoes take a few miles on them in order to get the cushioning and flexibility to come out, so I may do an update of these shoes after getting some miles on them.

I am still going to order the Lone Peak trail shoes, just a matter of time.  I will probably get them before I head out to the trail race, maybe not.

I see from the analytics that a lot of people get here looking for running pictures or “inspirational” pictures, so I will add a few more.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

