New items added to the agenda

I have a few new additions to the site to add. First up is that on my trip to California I will have a little (4 hour) side trip as my wife has a very good friend whose husband passed away last weekend (same day I had one of the worst runs in my life, almost had to call for a ride home). He was out riding a bicycle and had a brain aneurysm and passed away despite the best efforts of doctors in Lake Havasu and later Phoenix. So, we will be attending his funeral on the way to California on Saturday. Things like this really make me sit back and think about how quickly life can be turned upside down for people, and how I need to make sure that my kids and wife are taken care of if anything were to happen to me.

Then on Tuesday I had a toothache that became so bad I ended up going to an emergency doctor for work. 3 hours and one less tooth later I returned home, and haven’t been up to running since. I will get in at least a 4 miler tonight after work if the Phoenix dust storms don’t make it impossible to breathe. Does anyone remember when monsoon season in Phoenix used to mean it would rain? Now its nothing but massive dust storms. I guess global warming is a myth.

I have done a few runs in the Asics Gel Lyte 33’s and as I thought after you get some miles on them the cushioning comes up and the stiffness wears out but they never reach the degree of flexibility that the Nike Free gets. I will keep wearing them and keep updating as I see the site has over 100 hits last week from a thread on the Runners World forums where someone asked about the shoes.

In other shoe news, I located a pair of Altra Lone Peak trail shoes in a size 13 and ordered them. Pretty pumped to have them for the upcoming trail race. Pictures and a mini review are forthcoming as I will get them tomorrow.
;

As always, here are some pictures.

;

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

