Desert running 8-3-13 edition

Nice little 10 Miller out through the dessert this morning. I got out around 6 am before the sun started to beat down. I was able to see some things I looked and didn’t like. What I didn’t like was the endless yellow rope the was strung all over. Signs that construction and destruction of the dessert are right around the corner. Along with that will be my favorite running trails going away.
What I did like was discovering 3 abandoned mine shafts that I had not seen before. Pretty cool and creepy at the same time. The fatality rate of the guys who worked down in these moves was pretty extreme.
As for the workout portion of the ruin, it was very slow which was partially intended as my heart rate monitor has been saying that I have been working to hard on my long runs. Exploring the mine shafts added time on that was not planned but not necessarily a bad thing.I turned my able about 2 miles from home but after a short walk it off period I was able to finish running.
Here are some pictures I snapped along the way.

image

This mine was crazy in that there was no barbed wire, fencing, or signs saying no trespassing or property

image

of the department of interior.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

 

Just realized the the WordPress app on my phone along with the spell checker originally had the title as Dessert running not Desert.  Could be interesting either way.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

