Gifts

I did a lot of thinking over the recent holiday season and after it was wall said and done with buying, wrapping, giving and receiving gifts it dawned on me that the best gifts are the ones we give ourselves.  And for me the gift I give myself that means the most of the gift of time.  Not a watch or GPS device but giving myself time to do what I need to do to make me the best me that I can be.  For me that means setting aside time to do what is important, family time and yes work, but time to self reflect and “spiral out”.  A cool Tool lyric I know, but it really encompasses what I need to do in order to be the best me.  Taking time to run (duh).  Read.  Listen.  Listen not hear but listen to my wife, kids, and others who are important to me.  I have discovered that there is a large difference for me to listen and hear.  I need to do more listening.  Time to be at peace wether that be listen to music or meditate, yeah scary thought huh?  There are more, many more but these are the ones that came to my mind right now.  And when these things happen as planned and needed, I as a whole spiral out from my being into something much greater.  I know that it sounds like I have been spending way too much time with the new agers in Sedona but I haven’t.  I have been doing a lot of reading and listening to podcasts that have turned me on to the thoughts of enlightenment.  I am but a pup in this quest but I am trying.

My running often seems like it is the biggest gift I can give myself as it is often referred to as my non-medicinal Prozac and it keels me focused, stable, and sane.  And I think that it is a huge part of me and who I am but it works in tandem with keeping everything else level-not too high not too low.

What else has been going on…hmmm.  Well I guess that there is this thing called the Super bOwl coming up.  Yeah that.  I can’t believe that it has been 15 years since my beloved Denver Broncos were there last.  I really have a good feeling about their chances this year.  Peyton Manning is the best defense in the NFL.  He moderates the other teams offense.  You need an 8 minute drive?  Ok.  You need a 2 minute scoring drive?  Ok.  He doesn’t always do it, but more often than not.  Sunday will be a good day.

denver_broncos_wallpaper_by_inezo-d5cbnvw

denver-broncos-jaime-friedman

And yes, some running related pictures.

BctJ_RNCEAEl64Y

 

Cool sign bro.

Cool sign bro.

7909765948_d3755cb69f_b

6607825369_8e3249ec10_o

23 - 1

Hello Flagstaff.  Home of the 2014 US sky running championships.

Hello Flagstaff. Home of the 2014 US sky running championships.

Comes with every Brooks order from what I hear.

Comes with every Brooks order from what I hear.

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

