The heat is on

I know that pst of the Country is covered in freezing weather and snow, but here in the Southwest we are pushing 90 degrees this President’s day weekend.  Next weekend is the Elephant Mountain 35K, I had some ideas of trying the 50K, but in reality my training just wasn’t there. I am still thinking of the Mesquite Canyon 50K in March, but that last 5 miles is beast…from what I hear.  Later in March is the Crown King scramble 50K that I would really love to do because of its history, and challenge but the logistic of getting picked up there in Crown King is just too much.  I know there is a shuttle this year taking you back to Phoenix so I might consider that.

Last Sunday I set a PR in the half marathon, something that had evaded me for at least 3 years.  Funny thing is I wasn’t even trying to run that fast it was just that everything came together for me.  I do give a lot of credit to the UCan Super starch.  I will be using it next Saturday in the 35K.  Another thing is I ran the entire 15.5 miles with no music.  Listening to my body….hmmm.

Things are going to get pretty busy here now as the state soccer season is ramping up for my daughters team as they push towards the state Cup, and my sons tackle football team starts 2 a week practices this week then games on Fridays.  All of these activities make life seem to fly by, but I think they are worth it to give my kids a nice quality of life and activities that most of their friends parents don’t seem to want to be bothered with. Personal preferences I guess.

Pictures?  I got your pictures right here. The first one is to Celebrate the winter Olympics.  Go USA!

BThcAIrCYAInFwL.jpg-large

US Men’s hockey jerseys BghV4b7IMAA0G5_.jpg-largeHere is how to keep busy when riding the train.

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo9_r1_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo3_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo8_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo7_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo6_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo2_500

tumblr_n0n9k3AlVi1qewacoo10_500

BeWlh_1CYAAozV5

Cool ass sculpture, out there somewhere.

 

BfoDOUpIIAAUEkz

 

 

BfXL1UtCAAAoUgJ

 

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

