Missed opportunities

I have been planning to run the Flagstaff marathon for a few months (actually sine I ran it last year) so when I went to register last Wednesday imagine me disappointment when I saw that the race sold out on Monday afternoon.  I know that it is my fault and thats what I get for procrastinating, but I often wait like many others in the event an injury or other factor comes up that prevents me from being able to run the race. On the other hand registering early (like Soulstice) places a concrete date on the calendar for me to plan for and train through the minor injuries and setbacks instead of letting them get the best of me and stopping my progress and training.  I tried to see if there was any chance of getting a transfer into the race but there were no takers on the Flagstaff Marathon Facebook page.  I am still going to be in Flagstaff for a soccer tournament so I will still get a 13.1 mile run in probably along the FUTS (FUTS click for map) or maybe go out and run the Waterline trail out in the mountains.  There is also the pending storms that are to move into northern Arizona later this week, so maybe not paying to run will pay off if the race is a mudfest.

My daughter has started her Cross Country career as a Freshman at Greenway High school.  In her first meet held in Prescott she held with the lead pack for 2 1/2 of the 3+ miles before blowing up and finishing 23rd out of 90+ runners.  Last week at the Washington High meet (held at Moon Valley) she was the overall winner beating second place by almost a minute.  In full disclosure the top 2 runners for Greenway did not run but still.  Oh, and their coach had them run from Greenway to Moon Valley before and after the race, 2 1/2 more miles.  I am getting jealous of the success my daughter is having as I am nowhere near fast and will never win a race anywhere, so when she tells us that she doesn’t like running and just wants to focus on soccer I don’t know how to handle it.  She has so much potential for running but if she has no passion…

Well, anyway as always here are my favorite pictures from the past few weeks.

My daughter on her second lap

My daughter on her second lap

tumblr_n8ar30AYJE1tej1xoo1_500

BvAQcXgCQAIPe9g.jpg-large

Been there. #slowrunner

IMG_1799

Getting coached on her way to the win.

IMG_1800

tumblr_n5tzfb3k871qgwl97o1_500

tumblr_n9wtkllaQL1swgyovo1_250

Unknown-5

Unknown-7

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

