Is the circus coming to trail racing? 

By circus I mean the competitor group and their carnival rock and roll races. They tried to get in the world of triathlons a few years back and for whatever reason that failed to catch on ( congrats tripeople) As there are only about 5 of them yearly, but recently I have seen more and more of their greasing up to the new breed of American trail and ultra runners pimping their movies, books and getting them to write articles about ultra running and training for competitors website. I have also heard in the past year + that competitor has been sending out their staff to pick the brains of trail race directors making it apparent that they are preparing to start their carnivals (and free labor from volunteers-another post for another time) on the dirt. 

I know that in many areas my thinking and style are out of the norms but I think most people enjoy the small race feel of trail running and getting into nature away from the bustle and noise of road races. 

Stick to what you have monopolized Competitor (and your hedge fund ownership group) and please leave the dirt trails alone. 
  

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

