Flagstaff marathon, or half 2015

Last Saturday I ran the Flagstaff half marathon my daughter ran the 10K and my son ran the kids K. A real family event. 

We arrived Friday night, checked in at the Kickstand Cafe then went to watch the NAU soccer team defeat North Dakota State 4-3. I am amazed every time I visit NAU and see how much that campus has changed. I want to go back to school. 

I have run the half a few times before so I knew where I had struggled before so I tried to make sure that I took it easy heading into the big climbs and took plenty of fluids and nutrition as well. I had 2 scoops of UCan starch before then used a weak mix of Tailwind in my handheld. I did well early on and completing the first loop I thought I was doing well but by mile 9 the altitude or something grabbed me by my balls and wouldn’t let go. I was lightheaded and dizzy almost the entire last 3-4 miles of the run. I finished, missed my goal time but am not complaining as I wasn’t as trained as I should have been. I guess signing up on a whim Wednesday before had something to do with it.  Pictures below 

My daughter finished 10th overall in the 10K despite taking a fall and cutting up her wrist and leg. She spent several minutes at an aid station getting everything cleaned out before heading back out. Very proud of her. 
   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 

About runfaraz

I am a guy who loves to run marathons, and has been gifted with exceptionally slow genes which makes for mid pack finishes in races. If I don't run I become an unbalanced manic fool, so yes...running is my prozac. I believe that the key to a happy productive life is balance. Balance in all areas of your life. If one area is out of balance, all others go out of balance. Come back often as I love to see the hit counter go up!!! View all posts by runfaraz

Leave a Reply

